Get your free website from Spanglefish

Local Authority

Local Election News

We have new councillors for East and West Chesterton, no surprise there as both Ian Nimmo-Smith and Roman Znajek had indicated that they would be retiring as councillors so a big thank-you to both for their service to the City. Ian hasn't quite finished as he remains Mayor until the Annual Meeting of the Council on 24th May. He will continue to have a very busy intinerary until then. I was very pleased to greet Ian and Margaret at my Polling Staion yesterday.

Our new councillors are Margaret Abbott for East Chesterton and Mike Pitt in West Chesterton. Margaret is new to council work but Mike is making a return to the City Council having previously served as a councillor for Kings Hedges.

The election results for each ward of Chesterton are:

Margery Abbott (Lab) 1,012  Elected
Peter Burkinshaw (UK Independence) 129
Kevin Francis (Con) 317
Tony Morris (Lib Dem) 438
Peter Harry Pope (Green) 241

Oliver Charles Mathew Perkins (Green) 325
Mike Pitt (Lib Dem) 840  Elected
Mike Sargeant (Lab) 751
James Andrew Strachan (Con) 372

The Association looks forward to working with its new councillors.

Michael Bond, Treasurer.

Click for Map
sitemap | cookie policy | privacy policy | accessibility statement